HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index HIARCS Chess Forums
World Championship winning computer chess software program & downloads for chess database, analysis and play on PC, Mac and iPhone
 
 QuestionsQuestions   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 

Optimizing engine strength vs strange results....

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index -> Programming Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author
vaporizer
Member


Joined: 04 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:58 pm    Post subject: Optimizing engine strength vs strange results.... Reply with quote

Normally for years,I have been using Shredder 11 UCI to load all my engines and Hiarcs.I figured,after all these years,i'll try a new UCI with more bells and whistles.So when I got the DVD through the mail(Komodo 8 for multiprocessors),it took me a while to get use to it,and it came with everything it seems that I needed and tons more options.I loaded my Hiarcs in it and several engines,including houdini 4,stockfish(latest version) and of course,Komodo.

In Komodo,i'll set my engine hash to 4096 which is the maximum safe allowable hash for my 8GB system.But if I click on "optimize strength"under level of play...Komodo UCI actually lowers the 4096 that I manually placed in
to the engine settings to a lower hash level like 4026.That is kind of weird to me!

I'm still learning to circumnavigate this new Komodo UCI,but,why it would lower my hash like that,I do not know.So what I am doing now is simply plugging in 4096 and NOT pressing optimize!Whether that is a "weaker"thing to do or not,I do not know.

Again,i'm no pro tweaker on these engines and UCI's,but i'm better than some players on these issues,i'm sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaporizer
Member


Joined: 04 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So,I would like someone else to plug in 4096 in their engine strength hash and make sure its clicked in as 4096 hash.Now,go back and press "optimize strength"in the engine parameters and check the new hash level after you return to your chess board and THEN check the hash level one more time.Has it been automatically reduced lower than 4096?No,yes?

Mine reduces to 4026.Strange indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harvey Williamson
Site Admin


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 5928
Full Name: Harvey Williamson
Location: Media City, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the fritz gui's which is what you are talking about after you have optimized right click on the engine pane then click properties and now set the hash to 4096 again - this usually works.
_________________
www.Hiarcs.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index -> Programming Discussions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP