Getting started in chess: DGT board vs Mephisto Exclusive

This forum is for general discussions and questions, including Collectors Corner and anything to do with Computer chess.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Steve B, Watchman

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the fen tag before the upgrade.
kf6vci

Getting started in chess: DGT board vs Mephisto Exclusive

Post by kf6vci »

Hi All

I'm a beginner and would fancy a game without the laptop or pc. For that I am looking to buy a long-lasting computer, not some toy made in China. Would the Mephisto Exclusive be a good choice? As a beginner, I don't care about the modules' ELO numbers :) But I would like to have a board which is compatible to the Revelation module :wink:

Would the use of a DGT board make sense? I don't have a chess partner and would like to practice and learn...

Please excuse my ignorance:
Q1: which engine should I buy?
Q2: Is there something like a world standard out there?
Q3: When I spend a lot, I would like to buy something which lasts and is a quality product.

Q4: Is there any solid quality stand alone chess computer which is good but cheap? I saw a Mephisto II on Ebay and may try to buy that one as well...

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and suggestions!

Chris
Monsieur Plastique

Post by Monsieur Plastique »

Pretty much all the dedicated chess computers - no matter how well built - will need maintenance at some stage in their lives. The Mephistos are now getting on a bit. Just recently we even had an Exclusive board blow a reed switch and the surgery to fix something like that is actually very involved (and the machine cannot ever be returned to absolute original condition with all original factory parts). And then there was an Elegance which needed a lot of patience, diagnosis and part searching to get back to playing condition with a number of parts needing to be replaced, including capacitors and the piezo buzzer.