opinions on various Mephisto modules (for Exclusive/Modular)

This forum is for general discussions and questions, including Collectors Corner and anything to do with Computer chess.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Steve B, Watchman

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the fen tag before the upgrade.
jarek

opinions on various Mephisto modules (for Exclusive/Modular)

Post by jarek »

Hello Chess Friends,

what is the most customizable of the Mephisto modules?
I mean the one that has the most strength levels and/or playing styles?

I know that Polgar has the adjustable ELO setting.
I have read the instruction of Roma II and it also has quite many levels - around 80! However, I read on some German forum that Roma II has a "boring" play style.

What is your experience?
Any recommendations, favourite modules etc?

As a beginner, I am quite happy with MM I :)
At the same time I'd love to have Polgar (but it is quite expensive for my pocket) or Roma II (which seems to be quite rare).

kind regards,
Jarek
Eric Wainwright

Post by Eric Wainwright »

Hi jarek,

I own both the Polgar and Vancouver modules, along with the MM II, IV, and V modules. Both the Polgar and Vancouver have a high degree of customizability, with the nod going to the Vancouver.

The Polgar has a full set of customizable levels (Normal, Tournament, Blitz, Search Depth, Problem Solving, and Infinite) plus that ELO option that you mentioned. It also has a much nicer user interface and expanded display than the earlier Mephisto modules written by the same programmer, Ed Schroeder (i.e. MM III (Rebel) through MM V).