OPEN Source Eboard DIY project

You can discuss all aspects of programming and technical matters here.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Watchman

Revolt

OPEN Source Eboard DIY project

Post by Revolt »

Hi all:
I am a 40 yr chess veteran and MIT certified in Electronic design.
I am hoping to develop a lower cost e-board for general use. Perhaps in the sub $300 range,retail kit :idea:
It is a personal project. :!:

I am looking for support from the forum if possible as communications between a PC chess programme and an eboard are new to me. I am weak on the PC programming and prefer to avoid it.

As I understand it so far...Chess engines produce ACII moves in a window which is translated by a DLL or helper app. into a serial communication via RS232 over usb or direct USB to the eboard which supports bidirectional comms providing for player moves to be fed back to the PC as ASCII.

If this is so, I would need to setup a testbed (Windows 7 for now)that I can use as a means to evaluate bidirectional ASCII communications with the e board prototype. I need suggestions for which Chess software to use in the testbed as well as any helper app. (open source) to do the ASCII comms.

On the hardware side, I am developing on a Microchip 8 bit platform in either C or ASM. Chess piece identification via magnetic or RFID tags and RGB LED feedback in each square to provide for maximum functionality. Dual Chess clock capability to be added later. Eboard capabilities to enhance PvP play with PGN archiving, PGN upload/download and playback, Fischer chess setup capable and new player training aids such as chess piece move range display and color coded LEDs showing the last few opponent moves as a handicap. The magnetic /RF tag on each chess piece base can be removed and applied to new pieces to permit chess piece upgrades.
Board design to permit hardwood/glass/marble/porcelain upgrades within the 8x8, 1/16" acrylic grid. RGB colors to be displayed via the grid, not the squares.