HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index HIARCS Chess Forums
World Championship winning computer chess software program & downloads for chess database, analysis and play on PC, Mac and iPhone
 
 QuestionsQuestions   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 

Just got Hiarcs for Mac...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index -> HIARCS Customer Support & Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:15 am    Post subject: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

...And I have a question about playing styles. The manual says there are multiple playing styles, from raw beginner to grandmaster, and various styles of playing. All I've seen so far is the ability to adjust the strength from ELO 750 up and the ability to play a "strong," "aggressive" or "solid" game. (Or something like that, don't know if those are the exact words.) Are there other options I'm not seeing. That doesn't seem as wide-ranging and flexible as the manual implies.

That's it. Thanks.


John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can configure also a Book mode (4 modes) and others. There are all Engine options.

http://www.hiarcs.com/pc_uci_options.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:01 am    Post subject: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

Thanks. Now I have another question. Smile I notice my clocks keep resetting. I have them set for 120 mins for one game, but when I quit out and return later the clocks are reset to 2:00:00 and start counting down again. Anyone know what this is about? Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My program is not resetting the clocks, when I close and open it, the program set time and position correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:58 am    Post subject: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

That's really weird. I'm wondering if I'm doing something differently. How do you get back into a game after exiting the program? I bring it up and get a board that's at starting position, with the window saying "New Database" by default. To get the game I was playing I go to File/Open recent and select "PlayedGames.pgn." I then select my game in the window on the bottom of the screen ("Game explorer") and the go to Play/From current position.

I do this because when I open the game the screen's always set at "New Database." But I just noticed that on another computer where I installed the program, it just opens to the game I'm playing and lets me close on that game while it just autosaves without even asking.

So I'm confused... Smile And the documentation is not the greatest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herO
Member


Joined: 12 Nov 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

John_Grabowski wrote:
That's really weird. I'm wondering if I'm doing something differently. How do you get back into a game after exiting the program? I bring it up and get a board that's at starting position, with the window saying "New Database" by default. To get the game I was playing I go to File/Open recent and select "PlayedGames.pgn." I then select my game in the window on the bottom of the screen ("Game explorer") and the go to Play/From current position.

I do this because when I open the game the screen's always set at "New Database." But I just noticed that on another computer where I installed the program, it just opens to the game I'm playing and lets me close on that game while it just autosaves without even asking.

So I'm confused... Smile And the documentation is not the greatest.


Your clock does not reset at all. Your clock settings are set to 2 hours again, because you choosed start A NEW GAME! from the current position Smile If you just want to quit the application when you are playing the game, just quit the application. Do not abort the game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

When I quit the app it asks me to save, as either 1-0, 0-1, * or don't save.

So I save it as something, usually * because I'm not finished.

When I return I'm in the New Database screen. To get to my game again the only way I know how is to reload it by searching under playedgames.png and then resuming from current position.

I can't quit or close in any way without getting the "do you want to save 1-0, 0-1, * or don't save" message.

Is there any other way to do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

...And I should say it asks me each time to save the game before quitting, and then reloads in the "New database" mode and makes me start a new game from the position to resume my game, whether I choose "quit" when I exit or just "close."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herO
Member


Joined: 12 Nov 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac... Reply with quote

John_Grabowski wrote:
When I quit the app it asks me to save, as either 1-0, 0-1, * or don't save.

So I save it as something, usually * because I'm not finished.

When I return I'm in the New Database screen. To get to my game again the only way I know how is to reload it by searching under playedgames.png and then resuming from current position.

I can't quit or close in any way without getting the "do you want to save 1-0, 0-1, * or don't save" message.

Is there any other way to do it?


It seems you have older version of HCE. Please upgrade your HCE to the newest version 1.9.1. You are "forced" abort the game in version 1.9, but it was a bug. It is now fixed in version 1.9.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:13 am    Post subject: Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac Reply with quote

Thanks. Where's the link to upgrade?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herO
Member


Joined: 12 Nov 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac Reply with quote

John_Grabowski wrote:
Thanks. Where's the link to upgrade?


You have two options how to do it.

First:
1. Open Hiarcs Chess Explorer application.
2. Click on the Help menu.
3. Choose "Check for updates".

Second:
1. Open your browser.
2. Visit page http://www.hiarcs.com/hce/pc-v190.htm
3. Download the file HCE 1.9.1.
4. Install newest version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Just got Hiarcs for Mac Reply with quote Reply with quote

I should have told you I have the Mac version.

According to the website, 1.9 is latest for Mac, and that's what I have. Also, this doesn't explain why I have this "bug" on one computer but not another even though I downloaded the same exact software to both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just sent an email to Mark U. Maybe he has some answers... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John_Grabowski
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

He did. He forgot to put up the link to the Mac update! It works now.

Sigh...Mac is always relegated to the back. Smile



John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HIARCS Chess Forums Forum Index -> HIARCS Customer Support & Announcements All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP