How do yiu determine ELO by seconds?

This forum is for general discussions and questions, including Collectors Corner and anything to do with Computer chess.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Steve B, Watchman

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the fen tag before the upgrade.
Peeter

How do yiu determine ELO by seconds?

Post by Peeter »

Hi all
I have acquired a few boards now and having great fun. I have a Saitek Challenger, Master and Fidelity excellence. What i would like to know is how seconds computed relate to overall ELO? They go from 1 second to minutes. But how does that relate to ELO? Is there a way to roughly calculate this?

Thanks Peter
CompDad

Post by CompDad »

Weiki ELO is a 30s per movement or 30 min total. I supose if you give more time for a computer, the better it will compute, so a higher ELO, BUT I'm not so sure about it, maybe Nick can correct me.

For example, the Mephisto Master has at about 2100 ELO wiki.

The Mephisto Milano can be adjusted for any level between 0 to 2000 ELO.

I don't know for others computers, so the Wiki ELO is just a reference.
Peeter

Post by Peeter »

Cheers. I more or less know the max but on these three you cant adjust by elo. So the Master would be 2100 or so at 30 seconds thinking time?. But how do i know how many seconds is 1800(my level roughly)? Is it a sliding scale of some sort?. Thanks again.
spacious_mind

Post by spacious_mind »

Peeter wrote:Cheers. I more or less know the max but on these three you cant adjust by elo. So the Master would be 2100 or so at 30 seconds thinking time?. But how do i know how many seconds is 1800(my level roughly)? Is it a sliding scale of some sort?. Thanks again.
Hi Peeter,